Day eighteen-twenty three of creativity and expression / my own best company

Something I’ve learnt from the past several days has been how to appreciate my own company again.

I’m not sure about everyone else, but I tend to fall into a bit of a codependent trap when in a relationship. I stop appreciating myself, undervalue quality time alone, and generally start to feel like if my partner isn’t with me then there’s something wrong with our love.

Which is absurd, ofcourse. Logically I know this. But emotionally I tend to get swept away. 

Furthermore, I tend to get caught in a paradox of sorts; I want company but I also want to do things exactly my own way, which isn’t really how company works.

Which is why this months focus was so important for me. Self expression and creativity have helped me realise I’m actually a pretty interesting person all by myself. I have plenty of things I find fun to do, and when I do them alone they are an entirely different experience, and a rewarding one at that.

I’ve created so many things this month, alone, I’ve been singing more and video blogging, I’ve had a more open mind in general and all sorts of epiphany like realisations have been hitting me as a result.

It’s already been an incredibly eye opening month, can’t wait to see what the rest of “doing” it brings 🙂

Leave a Reply

